Four Erupting Kamchatka Volcanoes

Four Erupting Kamchatka Volcanoes

The Kamchatka Peninsula is one of the most volcanically active regions on Earth. Located in Russia’s Far East region, the peninsula forms the northwestern edge of the Pacific Ring of Fire. At least 114 Kamchatkan volcanoes have erupted in the past 12,000 years. According to the Kamchatka Volcanic Eruption Response Team (KVERT) 4 of these volcanoes—Shiveluch, Klyuchevskaya, Bezymianny, and Karymsky—are erupting currently.

This natural-color satellite image shows the 4 active volcanoes on April 2, 2010. Gray and brown ash covers the white snow near Shiveluch, Klyuchevskaya, and Karymsky. The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Terra satellite acquired the image.

  1. References

  2. KVERT. (2010, April 1). Kamchatkan and Northern Kuriles Volcanic Activity. Accessed April 5, 2010.
  3. Global Volcanism Program. (n.d.). Volcanoes of Kamchatka and Mainland Asia. Accessed April 5, 2010.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 720x720
  • JPEG
  • 1800x2400
  • JPEG 1 MB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    April 2, 2010
  • Visualization Date:

    April 5, 2010
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration