• Credit:

    Image courtesy Jacques Descloitres, MODIS Land Team

The island of Cyprus is located south of Turkey and northwest of Lebanon in the Mediterranean Sea. The island is 225 km from east to west, and has an area of about 9,250 square kilometers. This image, acquired by NASA’s Moderate-resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) on January 30, 2001, shows the three distinct geologic regions of the island. In the central and western part of the island is the Troödos Massif, a mountain range whose surface layer is mostly basaltic lava rock, and whose maximum elevation is 1953m. Running in a thin arc along the northeast margin of the island is Cyprus’ second mountain range, a limestone formation called the Kyrenia Range. A flat area of low relief occupies the space between these ranges, and is home to Lefkosia, the capital city of the Republic of Cyprus. The city is visible as a grayish-brown patch near the image’s center. Lefkosia lies along a UN-patrolled cease fire line that begins in roughly the center of the W-shaped northwestern coastline and meanders east/southeast across the island. The line was established in 1974, and it divides the Turkish-occupied North from the Republic of Cyprus to the south.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 540x405
  • JPEG 31 KB
  • 1002x752
  • JPEG 97 KB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    January 30, 2001
  • Visualization Date:

    April 16, 2001
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS


NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration