The Four Corners

The Four Corners
  • Credit:

    Jacques Descloitres, MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, NASA/GSFC

The Four Corners of the Southwestern United States is visible in these MODIS true-color images acquired March 31, 2002 and April 4, 2002. The states of Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico compose the Four Corners. Also visible in the March 31 image are the states of Idaho (top left), Wyoming (top right), Nevada (upper left), California (lower left), Baja California and northern Mexico (bottom left), and eastern Texas (bottom right). The number of fires (red dots) increased in the space of four days — one visible on March 31st and six on April 4th.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 850x1100
  • JPEG 251 KB
  • 1700x2200
  • JPEG 897 KB
  • 3400x4400
  • JPEG 2 MB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    April 4, 2002
  • Visualization Date:

    April 10, 2002
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration