Lesser Antilles

Lesser Antilles
  • Credit:

    Jacques Descloitres, MODIS Rapid Response Team, NASA/GSFC

The Lesser Antilles island chain is centered in this true-color Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) image from September 20, 2002. From bottom to top through the center are Grenada, St. Vincent (with Barbados to its east), St. Lucia, Fort-de-France, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Montserrat (slightly west of center line), Antigua, and Barbuda. The Lesser Antilles are part of a chain of islands that runs between the tip of Florida and northern South America in the Caribbean Sea. On Montserrat, the thermal signature (marked in red) could be from the Soufriere Hills Volcano.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 600x800
  • JPEG 103 KB
  • 1200x1600
  • JPEG 408 KB
  • 2400x3200
  • JPEG 1 MB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    September 20, 2002
  • Visualization Date:

    October 16, 2002
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration