• Credit:

    Jacques Descloitres, MODIS Rapid Response Team, NASA/GSFC

The state of Hawaii, about three thousand kilometers west of Los Angeles, California, is made up of seven islands. They are, from left to right, Niihau (obscured by clouds), Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, Maui, and Hawaii (the “Big Island”). The Hawaiian chain is home to a couple of active volcanoes —Mauna Loa and Kilauea Crater on the Big Island—and a number of dormant and extinct volcanoes, such as Mauna Kea on the Big Island and Haleakala on Maui.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 550x425
  • JPEG 42 KB
  • 1100x850
  • JPEG 135 KB
  • 2200x1700
  • JPEG 363 KB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    December 13, 2002
  • Visualization Date:

    December 31, 2002
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration