Erupting Kamchatka Volcanoes

Erupting Kamchatka Volcanoes

There are currently five erupting volcanoes on the Kamchatkan Peninsula: Shiveluch, Bezymianny, Tolbachik, Kizimen, and Karymsky. NASA’s Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard the Terra satellite captured four of them (Shiveluch, Tolbachik, Kizimen, and Bezymianny) in this natural-color image on July 1, 2013. MODIS detected the heat signatures (red outlines) of the lava domes on Shiveluch and Kizimen, and the spreading lava flows emanating from Tolbachik. The activity at Bezymianny was imperceptible from 705 kilometers (438 miles) above.

  1. Reference

  2. Kamchatka Volcanic Eruption Response Team (2013, July 4) Kamchatkan and Northern Kuriles Volcanic Activity. Accessed July 5, 2013.

Images & Animations


File Dimensions

  • 720x720
  • JPEG
  • 1000x1200
  • JPEG 547 KB
  • GeoTIFF 2 MB
  • KMZ 2 KB

Note: Often times, due to the size, browsers have a difficult time opening and displaying images. If you experiece an error when clicking on an image link, please try directly downloading the image (using a right click, save as method) to view it locally.


  • Data Date:

    July 1, 2013
  • Visualization Date:

    July 5, 2013
  • Sensor(s):

    Terra - MODIS


NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration