Hawaii - related image preview

550 x 425
42 KB - JPEG

Hawaii - related image preview

1100 x 850
135 KB - JPEG

Hawaii - related image preview

2200 x 1700
363 KB - JPEG


The state of Hawaii, about three thousand kilometers west of Los Angeles, California, is made up of seven islands. They are, from left to right, Niihau (obscured by clouds), Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, Maui, and Hawaii (the “Big Island”). The Hawaiian chain is home to a couple of active volcanoes —Mauna Loa and Kilauea Crater on the Big Island—and a number of dormant and extinct volcanoes, such as Mauna Kea on the Big Island and Haleakala on Maui.

Jacques Descloitres, MODIS Rapid Response Team, NASA/GSFC

Published December 31, 2002
Data acquired December 13 - 13, 2002

Terra > MODIS
Solid Earth > Volcanoes > Eruption Dynamics
Solid Earth > Volcanoes > Volcanic Ash/Dust